About Us


An Independent, self reliant, Spontaneous, Strong and Vibrant Cooperative Movement concerned for the community in general and the weak in particular.


Inspiring Mutual help and Cooperative values with honesty, dignity, proactively, responsiveness, commitment and professionalisation for regularization of sustained and planned economic growth and socio-cultural up-liftment of the people of Odisha.


To usher in a vibrant cooperative movement in the state with all financially strong, self reliant, democratic, autonomous & member driven so as to fulfill the basic objective of promotion of social & economic interest of the individual in accordance with cooperative principles.


To implement the policies and programmers of the Central and State Governments for the benefit of farmers and other economically weaker sections through cooperatives and for strengthening the cooperative movement.


To faster Socio –Economic development of the state through Cooperative initiatives.



The Odisha Cooperative Societies Act – 1962


The Odisha cooperative Societies Rules 1965

The Odisha Self Help Cooperative Act – 2001

Every Cooperative society registered under the Odisha Cooperation Societies Act -1962 has a bye law of its own consistent with the provision of the OCS Act – 1962. Similarly Cooperative registered under  the Odisha Self-Help Cooperative Act – 2001 has its own Articles of Association consistent with the OSHC Act-2001

Under the directorate of the Registrar of cooperative societies, there are 19 cooperative division - one each at the headquarters of the 13 erstwhile undivided Revenue Districts headed by a Deputy Registrar of Cooperative Societies and 58 cooperative circles, each headed by an Assistant Registrar of cooperative Societies. This Directorate is entrusted with the responsibility of implementation of policies and programmes of the Central and State Governments for the benefit of farmers and other economically weaker sections through cooperatives and for strengthening the cooperative movement. To achieve these objectives, the Directorate looks after administration, supervision, monitoring and regulation of the Cooperative Societies functioning in the State in various sectors such as handloom, fisheries, dairy etc. and the Cooperative credit societies.
There are 9(nine) Apex Cooperative societies functioning under the administrative control of the cooperation Department which are :
  • Odisha State Cooperative Union (OSCU)
  • Odisha State Cooperative Bank (OSCB)
  • Odisha State Cooperative Marketing Federation (MARKFED)
  • Odisha Cooperative Housing Corporation (OCHC)
  • Odisha Consumer Cooperative Federation (OCCF)
  • Odisha Stare Cooperative Agriculture and Rural Development Bank (OSCARD Bank)
  • Odisha Cotton Grower's Cooperative Marketing Federation (COTFED)
  • Odisha Federation of Urban Cooperative Bank & Credit C.S Ltd.
  • Odisha Federation of Labour & Construction Cooperative Ltd.
Besides, at present there are other categories of Primary & Central Cooperative Societies functioning under the administrative control of Cooperation Department including 17 Central Cooperative Banks (CCBs), 11 Urban Cooperative Banks,51 Regional Cooperative Marketing Societies (RCMs), 45 Cooperative Agricultural Rural Development Banks (CARD Banks), 3 Cooperative Sugar Mills, 18 Cooperative Cold Storages & 2708 Primary Agricultural Cooperative Societies (PACS) including 2488 Service Cooperative Societies (SCS) + 214 Large Sized Adivasi Multipurpose Cooperative Societies (LMPCS) + 6 Farmer's Service Cooperative Societies (FSCS).
On 1st April 1936 Orissa became a separate province with areas taken from Bihar & Orissa, Madras & Central provinces, thus the Registrar Office of the province of Orissa came to existence from 1st April 1936. From April 1936 the Office of RCS came to existence in the province of Odisha. This is the statutory authority under OCS Act & Rule to exercise power as per the provision of the act. RCS is also the Head of the Directorate of RCS Odisha with 4526 no of Co-operative Societies under its jurisdiction. The overall supervision and monitoring of Co-Operative institutions and their development comes under the purview of this Directorate.